How to Know If Someone Blocked Your Number on iPhone, iMessage, Android
There are times when you call the correct number but no one answers your calls and your texts are ignored. Maybe they are busy or they are doing something you. If you can't get in touch with someone, that doesn't mean they have blocked you. Even though you can't be sure unless you ask the person, there are some signs that will help you figure it out. In today's world, where technology is everywhere, it can be easier than ever to talk to people. But it can also be easy to stop someone from talking to you by pushing one or two buttons. And if you text someone and don't hear back, you might wonder if the same thing is happening to you. Here are different ways to know if someone blocked your number on iPhone, iMessage, and Android.
Can you know for sure?
To start, we should say that there's no surefire way to know if you've been blocked. For example, you won't get a message or see a sign in that person's contact information. That would be a breach of the other user's privacy. But little clues like the lack of a "Delivered" message on an iPhone and what you hear when you call the person can help you figure out if they've blocked you. In fact, it's much easier to find out if someone blocked your phone number if you and the person you're texting both have iPhones.
How to know if someone blocked your number on iPhone
There are a few ways to find out if someone has blocked your phone number. The Chief Communications Officer at Been Verified, Justin Lavelle, explains how you can tell if your iPhone number has been blocked.
See how fast you get to voicemail
If you call someone who has blocked your number, you won't find out about it in any way. But the ringtone/voicemail pattern won't work the way it should. When you call an unblocked number, you'll hear anywhere from three to twelve rings and then a voicemail message. You'll go straight to voicemail if the person's phone is off or if he or she is already on the phone.
A blocked number is a bit different in how it works. After one ring, you'll go straight to voicemail. You can leave a voicemail, but it won't go to the person's inbox right away. Instead, voicemails from numbers that have been blocked go to a different place. (How you get to it depends on what kind of phone you have, and it's not really relevant to this article.)
Basically, you're probably not blocked if your phone rings a lot or goes straight to voicemail. If you hear one ring and then a voicemail prompt, it's likely that you are.
If you get annoyed with spam calls, you can block that person, here's how to block a number on iPhone.
Check out your iMessage texting app
When you send a message, you will probably get a 'delivered' confirmation when the message has been sent." Look for that confirmation when you look at your messages with the person you think blocked you. "The last message you know was received and replied to should have a 'delivered' status," Lavelle says. If you don't see the "delivered" notification next to the messages you sent after that, it could mean that person has blocked you.
Another way to find out if someone has blocked your number is to call that person. "If you call a certain number and it goes straight to voicemail or you get a strange message like 'temporarily out of service' or 'the person is not taking calls,' this could mean your number has been blocked," says Lavelle. Maybe you did something bad over text that you shouldn't have.
How to Know if You Got Blocked on iMessage
Check your iMessage Delivery Status
iMessage, which is Apple's only instant messaging service, has a lot of features. One of them is the status of the delivery. Every iMessage you send has a tag that says when it was delivered. It tells you whether or not your message was sent. Even though "delivered" only shows up next to the most recent message (and changes to "read" if the other person has read receipts turned on), it can help you figure out if you're blocked or not.
If "delivered" shows up next to all of your most recent messages, you can be sure that the person hasn't blocked you.
But if the "delivered" tag suddenly disappears, it can be a worry. When someone blocks your number, they won't get your messages any more, and your phone won't be able to let you know that it did.
The “Delivered” tag disappears
They can still read the messages you sent before you were blocked. Their status can change from "Delivered" to "Read." But they won't get the message you sent after you were blocked. Even after you've been unblocked, any messages you sent while you were blocked won't get to the other person.
But does the lack of "delivered" always mean that the other party has blocked you? No, not always. There are other ways that your iMessages might not get to the person you want them to.
If someone switches from an iPhone to an Android without removing their number from the iMessage servers, their number will still show up in iMessages. But they won't get the messages you send them. Hence, no "delivered" tag. They might not be connected to the internet, too.
How to know if someone blocked your number on Android
If either you or the person you're texting has an Android phone, things are even less clear. Texting on an Android phone doesn't show the "delivered" message, and even an iPhone user won't see it when texting an Android user. So, how can you tell on an Android phone if someone has blocked your number from getting texts?
Lavelle says that if an Android user has blocked you, your text messages will still go through, but they won't get to the Android user. It's the same as an iPhone, but it doesn't let you know when something is delivered or not delivered. "The easiest way to find out if an Android user has blocked you is to call," says Lavelle. Listen for it to go to voicemail or play a pre-recorded message, just like you would with an iPhone. Of course, this doesn't always mean that person has blocked your phone number; your call could be sent to voicemail for other reasons. But if it keeps happening and both calls and texts go unanswered, you should think that you've been blocked. Even if you don't care about getting blocked, you shouldn't do these annoying things when you text.